Nickel layer for Damascus

KenH

Hello all - As ya'll know I'm VERY inexperienced with pattern welded (Damascus) billets. I've only made one low layer count (10 layers) billet with 1095 (.092") and 15N20 (.072") with a .003" layer of pure nickel between the layers. All arm 'h hammer power here. This is the knife I made from the billet:
Right-Side.jpg

My question is how much strength is lost with the nickel between the layers? With the next billet I would like to make a twist pattern. Would the nickel increase the odds of the welds coming apart? Someway I would like to make the layers more visible. With the layers drawn out flat as I did there the layers don't show up very much. I only see 3 or 4 layers on each side. I suspect I lost a couple of layers from scale.

@Ed, thank you for comment about less strength with SS cladding and 1095 core on San Mai - I'd not thought about that. For kitchen knives that shouldn't be a problem.

Ken H>

I have limited Damascus experience also but what I would try is 1095(or 1084) and 15n20(forget the pure nickel) and start with those 10 layers like you did restack it and make 20. Then I would twist the hell out of it. I think that would look pretty cool. I would probably twist it with decent size impact gun. Just make the end square to fit in a impact socket and put the other end in a solid vise.

Just remember that the nickel that extends to the edge will not harden or hold an edge so Jason makes a good point about not including pure nickel in the mix. If you do use nickel and fold the billet make sure that a nickel layer doesn't fold over another nickel layer in the forge welding. With proper atmosphere control it is possible to forge weld nickel to nickel but it takes a lot of experience to keep nickel oxides from building up and preventing a weld. Make sure that steel is overlapped onto steel for an easier time in forge welding.

Doug