New HT furnace coming!

Smallshop

KNIFE MAKER
I just ordered a new Paragon HT furnace. I'm super excited to be able to control temps. I've made about 6 knives out of O-1 over the years but never felt I had control of the HT process. My next knives I plan on using A-2. I've worked with A-2 a lot over the years as a toolmaker but we always sent our HT out. This will be real exciting to begin using and learning.

I think O-1 is a pretty good steel but I think for knife purposes A-2 is even better. I am starting with that because I know how it works. When I was an apprentice (1981) I made a sine bar out of A-2 the thing still looks like I made it yesterday. It's just a great all around tool steel.

I plan on this years Christmas gifts being home-made.....

Did you get any estimate on delivery time when you bought yours? I ordered mine about a month ago and I am still waiting for it to get here.

Bill

4-6 weeks....maybe you have a couple weeks left.

I was hoping for closer to 4 weeks. maybe not, huh?

I'm not really up and going yet. I still have to do a bunch of work to make room. I've got a bunch of non-knife making equipment crammed in a fairly small shop. So I'm not sweating it too much.

hopefully, it's not affecting your work too much.

I got an email from them yesterday saying it is shipping next week. As far as it affecting my work, the delay is saving me money. I haven't screwed up any steel in a couple of weeks since I have been waiting on it to get here! This is strictly an expensive and addicting hobby for me. They sent me an email yesterday and said it will ship next week, so it looks like it will be just a little over 4 weeks total.

" I haven't screwed up any steel in a couple of weeks since I have been waiting on it to get here! This is strictly an expensive and addicting hobby for me."

Well, there is always that.....but I'll bet your getting ancy to HT a nice blade with it!....I know I am....