need help stocking the shop

B

Ben Sons

I am new to this and needing some help with handle material...
I have ordered some micarta but I have no idea where to start with a wood order. I was hoping for some input on a "sample order"
I.E. What wood you use the most, and what you would recommend.
Thank you for your time
Ben Sons

You can't go wrong with some Desert Ironwood, its hard, easy to work, and does not require being stabilized, and makes a great handle.

Take a look around this weekend and see what is available. There is usually a company out of Hot Springs that sells stabilized woods. Stabilized maple makes a nice looking handle and is somewhat inexpensive compared to some of the others available.

Trying to get a "list" together. I know if I don't, I'll be driving back from littlerock kicking myself because I forgot what I needed to buy.

I like Osage Orange and African Blackwood. Both are very stable as they come from the wood lot. Osage Orange will be a bright yellow after sanding but will develope a brown patina in a few days if exposed to the sun. There are several others. Take a look at some of the supplies and see what appeals to you. Post back to get an idea of any problems that one might encounter with that wood.

Anything stabilized will work great. That means you can just shop by what looks good to you. I use a lot of bocote and black walnut.

Smoke,

All sound advice given if your looking for PREMIUM handle materials.

When I was an Ultra newb I just wanted to build a small stockpile of materials so reguardless of my cashflow I had what I needed to make a knife.

Stabilized is great and the rage these days. That does NOT mean that an un-stabilized handle is junk.

If I needed a supply of wood at an affordable price to make "newbie" knives with I'd get in touch with Mike Jones right here on KD's. If you want premium stabilized woods then Mark of Burl Source fame can help you out with that.

Both of these guys can be found here-