Need advice on making San Mai

Tom Lewis

I would like to try to make some San Mai. I have lots of experience with forge welding, but have never tried San Mai.
I am thinking of using 1/4"x 1" 416ss on the outside and 1/4"x1" 1095 on the inside.
I have heard I need to do a dry weld. So, will my wire welder weld the 416ss to the 1095?
Any suggestions will be appreciated.

I'm sure everybody has their own specific way of making San-Mai, but this is what I would offer based on how I do it......

I would encourage you to thin down you're components...... with the type of San-Mai, you won't be able to do much forging on it beyond welding..... it will delaminate if you try to draw it out or do much beyond welding.

Depending on what finished thickness you're wanting, you want to take your core, as well as your laminates down..... I generally take my cores to ..070-.100" and the laminates (outsides) to .100-.120". The only way I've been successful with that combination and a dry weld is to surface grind all the mating faces to at least 120 grit, and just prior to MIG welding, clean the mating faces with acetone (and have latex/Nitrile gloves on...because IF you happen to touch ANY of the mating faces with a bare finger it just won't weld). I put everything together, generally clamping it in a vise, and use vise grips on the outer ends to ensure everything is snugged together as best it can be.

Your MIG welder with work fine. MIG it all the way around the exterior edges, making sure you don't leave any air holes or gaps.