Looking for a good free CAD?

Chris Railey

I have to give a shout out to the free version of Q-CAD. I have zero experience with any CAD but in short order I can now design any knife or handle and glue it straight to wood for quick template making. It has saved me much money in pencil erasers and dykem alone. I needed to make a coffin handle template yesterday and in like 10 minutes I was ready to print.D8A0C128-91C6-485F-840B-ECFDF52D8F26.jpeg

I've been down that road. IMO, the words "Good", "Free", and "CAD" are mutually exclusive..... meaning they just don't go together.

I'll be real honest with you. I rarely use a CAD program, but I do have one.....and will leave you with this....... SolidWorks...... torrent files. ;)

I've been down that road. IMO, the words "Good", "Free", and "CAD" are mutually exclusive..... meaning they just don't go together.

I'll be real honest with you. I rarely use a CAD program, but I do have one.....and will leave you with this....... SolidWorks...... torrent files. ;)
I was against using CAD I was more of a wing it guy but when you are designing templates it rules. I tried a few others including fusion360 but I think what sets Q-CAD apart is that it is a 2-D program. Ditching that extra D makes it more simple to use. I never draw anything 3-D so it makes sense.

CAD can definitely be a game changer, especially when getting into folders. You might want to check out Fusion 360, which is free for hobbyists and students. There's a bit of a learning curve, but there's also more than enough resources (most of which are free as well) all over youtube and various forums.

I was against using CAD I was more of a wing it guy but when you are designing templates it rules. I tried a few others including fusion360 but I think what sets Q-CAD apart is that it is a 2-D program. Ditching that extra D makes it more simple to use. I never draw anything 3-D so it makes sense.