Knife steel

backtines

Hey guys I've been making knives with some quality now for about 3 years. The only steel I've been flat grinding is 1095 and the knives that Ive forged have been with 5160..
I am gonna be out of 1095 soon and I wanna step outside the box a little and try another type of steel. Something that works similar to 1095. ( heat treat 1450 for 10 min temper 375 for 45 min 2 to 3 times).

Can you guys give me a few suggestions on some similar steels to work with besides 1095?

Thanks

W1 or W2 would be good choices as well as 52100 IMHO for "similar" steels.

Or pick up a billet of Damascus from from HHH

-Josh

W1 or W2 would be good choices as well as 52100 IMHO for "similar" steels.

Or pick up a billet of Damascus from from HHH

-Josh

I have a bunch of 52100 left in shop that I use when I forge, does W1 and W2 work in the same fashion as 1095? And can it be purchased in thickness of 5/32"?

I just jumped over to Aldo's site and it looks like he doesn't have any W1 listed at this time, though he may still have a little held back. You could drop him a line about availability. He lists W2 but the thinnest is 1/4" and I don't know if he has the capability of rolling it out any further. One thing to remember about the W series of tool steel is that their carbon content can vary a great deal. Like from 0.60-1.40% so you need to ask or pay to have an assay done. Being that Aldo orders his lots with knife making in mind I imagine that he can at least tell you what target he asked for.

Doug