Hand Stitching idea……

Daniel Macina

Just thinking out loud here. Has anyone ever modified an arbor press to punch holes for stitching a sheath?

I got a very cheap awl when I bought my leather tools and it’s an absolute pain to use so I’m either going to buy a better awl or figure out a different solution. I’m going to try a drill press but I don’t love the idea of actually removing leather from the area.

The arbor press idea popped into my head was just curious if anyone else had modified one?

Probably would work? Only problem is getting it out once you punch thru. That was the hardest part for me especially in thicker areas like where the welt is. But I am just starting with the leather sheaths so I could have been doing it wrong?

I'm not an expert at all, but I just took a nail and ground it a little and then chucked it up into my drill press, turn the drill press on and start punching. Granted, there are probably better ways that I need to learn, but that's how I do it for now.

Something to keep in mind! When you punch a hole on the front you are probably following a groove made by your leather grooving tool!! s-l1000.jpg When you punch true the sheath you need to be 90* to the sheath. Or the back side stitching will be all over the place and it looks like Do-Do!

It is easy to accomplish that on a drill press. I will often use a spacer to elevate the welt to whatever the thickness of the sheath is. The advantage to using a drill press is that if you get the spacer the right height, you are automatically 90* degrees to the sheath stitch line, and the holes on the backside come out where they are suppose to!! Plus the finish nail creates heat as it punches thru and it will burnish each hole as it is made!! If you try it with a small drill bit you will get a bit of fuzz at each hole.