Chefs knives

petie

Sunday I ground out four cefs knives 2 with 5 inch blades and 2 with 9 inch blades all of themm were 2 inches wide. I'll have to say these were the toughest knives I've ground out so far. My hats off to the guys that make chefs knives. Might as well make the last ones I grind the hardest.

I have only done two up until the other day. They were both in O-1, and only 1.5 inches wide. I didn't think they were that bad. Just the other day though, I ground the same design in CPM 154 and I will say that sucked. It was my first experience with stainless and it didn't grind anywhere as easy as the O-1. I hope smaller knives such as hunters/skinners grind easier. What kind of steel were you using?

I used A-2. Maybe it was just because I've been grinding everything out of O-1 for two years. I think it might have been a combination of A-2,O-1 and a two inch wide blade. It was the first time I've ever put enough pressure on a blade to stop the belt. It didn't stall the motor but it stopped the belt cold. I'm heat treating them tommorrow so all I got left to grind is finish grinding.

I used A-2. Maybe it was just because I've been grinding everything out of O-1 for two years. I think it might have been a combination of A-2,O-1 and a two inch wide blade. It was the first time I've ever put enough pressure on a blade to stop the belt. It didn't stall the motor but it stopped the belt cold.

I've only used O-1 and 440C so far, so I'm not too familiar with grinding properties of others.
But I tend to think that irregardless of the steel used, the actual design of chefs knives tends to be somewhat more difficult to grind than other designs.

By design, we're making wide blades with narrow bevels. That's a lot of surface contact if setting the bevels in one pass.