About to start forging....

Casey Brown

So, I've been doing stock removal for a couple of years now. I'm now set up to try forging. From everything I've read, 1084 is a good steel to start out on. I've previously only worked with O1. About to order a batch of steel from NJSB, and was figuring .156" thick by 1.5" wide. Any recommendations on a good size to start out with? It really didn't matter before, because I could just cut or grind off the extra.

Thanks for any input,

Casey

5/32" x 1 1/2" is pretty thin and pretty wide to start forging with. It won't give you any margin for error to correct uneven forging and deep hammer blows. You'd best REALLY know what you're doing.

For someone just starting, and assuming hunters and small to medium camp/bowie knives are the reasonable goals, I'd recommend 3/16"+ or 1/4" x 1" for the hunters and 1/4" x 1 1/4" for camp/bowie knives.

With a little practice you can forge a pretty long, tall knife with reasonable thickness from 1/4" x 1 1/4".

I was literally just reading a few ht posts on the forums here, and thinking the same thing. Ed Caffrey was mentioning not ht'ing anything thinner than .200", so that makes a lot of sense. Going to have to get out of the stock removal mindset if I'm not using a professional heat treater. It's all about the learning process right now. Thanks for the feedback, John.

Last edited:
So, following up with one more question on dealing with the blade thickness. If I go with a say 0.2" thick spine prior to ht, can I still grind my bevels down to 0.01" or 0.02" thickness (dime thickness), or do I need to leave that thicker also until I fine tune my ht profile?

I take my edge thickness down to about .040" prior to heat treat.

.020" or less and you might start flirting with distortion or cracking.