2nd attempt at sheath making-Horizontal sheath

cajundad

My first attempt, after I posting to this site, I decided was not a very good effort, I even tried to delete the post but couldn't. :)This is my second attempt which turned out a little better than the first. :cool: I am posting this to show my progression, learning as I go. As you can tell, I'm very new at this and it's almost intimidating with all of the experts on this site to post anything here from a newbie, but here it goes anyway.......................

Attachments

• Horizontalsmallknife-Feb2021-v2.JPG
    Horizontalsmallknife-Feb2021-v2.JPG
    85.7 KB · Views: 47
Just my 2 cents the belt loops would be better is half moon top and bottom. Square corners to my way of thinking is the opportunity to tear easier.

Nice attempt. With this style sheath, think symmetry. Try to mirror top, bottom and both ends. It will look more pleasing to the eye. For example the belt slots.. they appear uneven.. they should be mirrors in angles and distances from edges. It appears you tried to use some type of black marker to color the sheath part. Go in one direction and overlap for a more even color. For a basic shiny black I use Kiwi Boot black. Most stores carry it. Stitching. Much better than my first attempts. I'd suggest using a back stitch for the first couple stitches at the beginning and end. These areas are subject to stresses. On line videos will give you example of how to finish stitching. You are on track just take your time

Thanks for the suggestions. I was hesitant to even post it here but in doing so I was hoping to see feedback like you guys have posted above. Both the black and burgundy are from bottles of leather dye I bought online. I'm about to buy some lighter shades as I'm not very pleased with my current choices. I've watched hours of stitching videos online and still struggling once I start "hands on". Anyway, thanks again for the advice, it's appreciated.