Western-Wingen Restoration and Sheath WIP

Ausbrooks

KNIFE MAKER
Here is brief tutorial on restoring a Western knife handle and an antler handle back to usable condition, as well as blade rust removal. I am no expert on this (has-been drip under pressure) but have done a few of these and learned a few do's and don't's so thought would share my latest restoration and a few tips. If have tips of own on this please post as restorations are a vast topic.
Here are what my bro-in-law challenged me with to restore. The Anton Wingen knife on bottom had laid out on Montana prairie for about 40 years until it was found. One side had a lot more rust than the other and there was lichen growing on the powdery white antler. I was able to soak the tang of the Wingen in oil and got it to unscrew, to my surprise.
BeforeR.jpg

Here is Wingen knife at glue up. The blade was draw-sanded from 320 until bare metal showed through rust then to 600. When deep rust pits are present, hand sanding is best way to retain character of knife and leave as much steel as possible. This is fastest way to bring back a badly rusted blade when scotch bright and wire brushes don't do job. On the old antler scales, I mixed antler powder captured in a tray under belt sander in neutral 30-min epoxy to fill the gap on top and bottom of handle where antler scales come together due to warpage in antler- about a .040 gap.
Antonglueup.jpg