Frame handle bowie WIP

Brad Lilly

Moderator and Awards Boss
I’m going to do a WIP on a frame handle bowie. I plan on using mild steel for the frame and guard, a little brass and kirinite scales. My knife has distal taper in the blade and tang.
Here are the raw materials, I chose 3/16” mild steel for the guard and frame.
IMG_0655.jpg

I like to use over sized steel to allow me more freedom in squaring the guard up.
IMG_0659.jpg

I mill the back of the guard, so the face of the guard is down on the table. The reason for this is I like to mill the slot wider on the handle side. When I’m filing the slot for the final fit I’m filing at and angle (Narrow at the front). This keeps me from filing away too much material where the guard and ricasso meet.
IMG_0661.jpg

IMG_0662.jpg

Subscribed
Is there a reason for clamping directly to the table instead of a vise? I'm new to the mill operation.

I'm excited about this frame handle build, I'll be watching it closely.

Is there a reason for clamping directly to the table instead of a vise?
It is easier to get the work piece out of level in the vice. When I clamp to the table I know it is flat.

Subscribed!

The frame handle knife of any kínd peaks my interest. I want to try doing it, but with a different array of materials. I remember one Randy Haas did and used Desert Iron Wood for the frame, that got me thinking......and that is always dangerous ! Rex

I stole some time for the shop today. The finished knife will have a steel guard and a brass spacer. I decided to try something different for attaching the frame to the spacer.

First I milled the top of my frame off just enough to make sure the top is square.
IMG_0664.jpg

Then I drilled and tapped the frame so I can attach the brass spacer.
IMG_0665.jpg

IMG_0666.jpg

I milled a skim off the spacer so it was nice and flat. Nothing will ruin your day like a taper where you don’t want it. Once everything is flat I drilled and milled a slot in the spacer
IMG_0668.jpg