Kirinite Pepper Jade bowie WIP

Mark Behnke

A few snap shots as I go along.

Ats-34 blade, tapered tang
304 SS guard

I have an old round ram Bridgeport hooked to the KMG VFD so the guard blank was milled down from hot rolled 304 SS (read no flat or parallel surface) this is my first attempt at using a mill so an all day job and still not done.

Next, grind the bevels, taper, drill, heat treat, then finish the guard ,more mill time lots of bugs to work out on the mill.

wstghsebreakeryankeecrkmomgailbarb2012kirinitepepperg012.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
I'm liking the way you got started. That is a nice looking blade design! I'm gonna subscribe to this one so I can keep up with your progress.
Let's rock -n- roll!

Thanks for looking in
I've been busy all week getting out side things done before it starts raining here.

Here's a little more, kind of a slow build so bear with me. A little more on the profile, not sure about the nib on the spine, or the grind line, it will have a swedge though, just did the one side with a 60 grit. Scribed a line 1" parallel to the blade edge as a guide and used a 10" wheel.

Cut a square out of 3/8" black paper micarta and turned it the lath for the rear most handle pin.

wstghsebreakeryankeecrkmomgailbarb2012kirinitepepperg001.jpg

wstghsebreakeryankeecrkmomgailbarb2012kirinitepepperg003.jpg

wstghsebreakeryankeecrkmomgailbarb2012kirinitepepperg002.jpg

wstghsebreakeryankeecrkmomgailbarb2012kirinitepepperg005.jpg

wstghsebreakeryankeecrkmomgailbarb2012kirinitepepperg004.jpg

Last edited:
Did a little grinding today and it wasn't pretty. Kept chasing that grind line... Gotta watch both edges of the wheel. Ding correct, ding correct...

And my micarta pin came out egg shaped, so I need to do it over. One step forward two back.

I'll try again tomorrow.

wstghsebreakeryankeecrkmomgailbarb2012kirinitepepperg018.jpg

I was happier with this,
wstghsebreakeryankeecrkmomgailbarb2012kirinitepepperg017.jpg

Before