Knife #12 WIP - Asian Influence??? - PHOTO HEAVY

Erin Burke

Hey folks...
I've been a bit trigger-happy with my camera while working on my most recent knife... and since it has been a few knives since my last WIP, I figured I'd turn this project into one.

Please keep in mind throughout this WIP that I am a novice - I'm probably doing several things wrong... simultaneously - so feel free to give advice on how I can do things better next time.

I suppose it makes sense to give a little background into the design first. My typical method for knife design is to create a sketch on pencil and paper that "works". Then I dig through my stash to come up with materials that fit the design. With this knife, I'm kind of working backwards. I had a block of stabilized green-dyed maple burl that I was consistently avoiding. It just did not seem to "fit" aesthetically with any of the designs I was producing. So... I decided to start with the block of maple and design a knife around it.

Below is a small photo of the block.
4882695807_9717e2b4b2.jpg

Now this a nice block with some cool activity... there's just something about that green color that would not work with any of my previous designs (in my opinion). So I started brainstorming about what type of knife it would work on. The first thing that struck me was how the brown "activity" in the block resembles an active hamon. This started me considering an asian "tanto" aesthetic. With this as a reference, the green color no longer seemed such an odd choice. Further, the green/brown palette of the block got me thinking about incorporating copper into the design. So suddenly I'm thinking about a tanto-esque knife with copper habaki/fuchi/kashira-type fittings. Now I have no experience with Japanese blades, but am suddenly excited about the idea.

As it played out, I finally put pencil to paper during break one day at work. I went through a lot of lead and eraser, but the photo below shows what I came up with.