PDA

View Full Version : Using a single controler for 2 motors

Diamond G Knives
05-15-2010, 01:40 PM
Hello Rob

Im in the process of moving my shop and have had a thought.

I have been using my 9"Disc Grinder for just over 6 months (And LOVE IT!!!) but until I got this had never experianced variable speed controlers. What a God Send!

I need a new motor for my KMG and was wondering if it would be possible to use the controler off of the Disc Grinder to control both the Disc and the KMG?

If so, since the Disc has a 1HP motor, could I use a 1.5 or 2 HP motor on the KMG as long it is the same RPM?

Any input you have on this would be greatly appreciated.

And a Heart felt Thank You for making such a well built and engineered line of equipment for us knifemakers!

God Bless
Mike

rfrink
05-17-2010, 07:42 AM
Hi Mike,

Yes and no....the controller on the disk is rated up to 1 hp. It will run the KMG....but with an output of only 1 hp regardless of the motor size used. If you use a 2hp motor, the controller will run it up to an output of only 1 hp. This is way too small and you will constantly be tripping it with an over load fault.

Ideally, you need the 2 hp controller for the KMG.....this controller will run motors upto 2 hp...meaning that it can also run your 1hp disk...no problem.

But your disk already has a 1 hp controller, so there is nothing to be gained.

I think the bottom line is that you just need to buy a new motor and drive for the KMG. This is something that you don't want to comprimise on....because you'll end up buying it again if you cut corners.

Sorry for the bad news...

These are just my thoughts and I hope I've been able to answer your question. Let me know.

Thank you for the kind words!

Sincerely,
Rob

silver_pilate
05-18-2010, 07:42 AM