The Little Guy

Shane Wink

The whole scandi grind has been kicking my butt however I did pull one off without the need for too much work to flatten on the stones. I have never used one before nor even held one so I did a good bit of research to have an idea on how to build something I have only seen in magazines or online.

The bevel is 30* inclusive and after cutting trap triggers, shaving fuzz sticks and a large pile of wood shavings for a fire, batoning through some post oak and finally slicing up steak and onions in the kitchen there was zero edge damage not at anytime did I sharpen the blade though out the testing.At the start of the test the blade slices paper with not effort and at the end it still shaved both hair and paper but did have a noticeable amount of drag to the cut. A few strophs later and it was back to popping hair. Honestly I have not given theses blades the credit they deserve.

This blade is destined to be used to destruction so nothing fancy handle wise but I have grown to like the carbonized bamboo very much and there will be more in the stable soon.

specs:
1/8 1095
3.75" blade
4.5" handle
Carbonized Bamboo with .020 G10 linners

Thelittleguy_zpse8fe547f.jpg

20130207_084029_zpsdaf21b6c.jpg

20130207_084333_zps805e39c9.jpg

20130207_085156_zpsed59ff0a.jpg

20130207_085614_zps86e0e544.jpg

Before today I would have said the same thing, but what I found was that when batoning the edge only came in contact with the wood when it is first hammered in. After that the wedge shape of the flats keep the wood split apart. I chopped a few small (1/2" limbs) limbs off and it never did roll or chip. I did not cut the big onion that well but that was to be expected as the same thing that helped it with the batoning hurt it when trying to cut the onion in half. It did slice the halves just fine however.

You did good. Now if these headaches I've been having let up a bit more I might be able to complete mine. They are a lot of work.

Doug