Stitcher help please?

Icho

Hi all. I'm new to leather work and only made about 5 knife sheaths. I'm hoping someone can help me out with sewing machines. There is one for sale and was wondering if it would work for making sheaths. I know pretty much nothing about sewing machines so any help would be greatly appreciated. Here's what I'm looking at. Its a Pfaff 1295 walking feet 3phase motor and they will throw in a 110v clutch motor. Any ideas what it would be worth? Also I was wondering what the controller panel does.... I know I am lost when it comes to sewing machines lol. Any other help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.@

That is an odd looking machine, the post is the most perplexing. Not sure what this machine is intended for but one of your concerns is how high the foot will raise and how much material that it is capable of sewing. Those two are the most important.

I did a short lookup on it and still cant find what its intended use is and what that post is for. But the price is a bit steep at 4 grand, you can get a Cowboy or Cobra brand leather stitcher for much less.

I can actually get this machine for $400. It seems like a pretty heavy-duty machine so that's what caught my eye. I just don't know enough about them to make the right decision. If it was local I would just go and check it out but it is about a 2 hour drive. Since i don't have any crazy demands I am hoping this could be a decent starter machine for me. I would just like it to be able to stitch at least 3 layers of 8oz veg tan leather better and easier than my hands.

Ask the current owner if it will stitch 1/2" of leather. If he says yes get a short video of the machine doing it. Technology is great if you use it. Everybody but me has an Iphone so it shouldn't be a problem!