Soldier rig: Mightor and Little Rok

Stormcrow

This was a commission from a soldier who ran into up close and personal trouble the last time he was in Afghanistan and wanted to be better prepared the next time he goes. We discussed this project for a good while, and I have to say that if I was a soldier stationed in the rockbox, I'd want him to be the guy in charge of me.

He wanted a pair of blades, a big fighter that could reach out and touch someone and a smaller utility that would still be good in a scrape. He wanted the big one to have an exposed pommel and wanted both of them to have fully sharpened clips.

This is what I sketched out:

armyjosh_zpsa8cb60a6.jpg

He approved and I got on it when I could. Somewhere along the way they got named Mightor and Little Rok as a nod to his time spent living in caves in Afghanistan. Mightor ended up with a 9 3/4" blade that is 2 1/8" wide and an overall length of 15 3/8". Little Rok has a 4" blade and an overall length of 8 3/4". The steel they were forged from was 1/4" 5160, triple normalized, triple hardened, and triple tempered.

Here they are forged out:

armyjosh04_zpsb609edc0.jpg

armyjosh02_zpsfc84e59f.jpg

armyjosh03_zps2c9efe4a.jpg

Little Rok has lightening holes to keep it from being overly handle heavy (though it ends up balancing at the first handle pin), but Mightor needed to balance out that long blade so only the rivet holes were drilled. With the handle slabs on, it balances right at the touchmark.

Here they are after stock removal, ready for heat treatment:

armyjosh05_zpsbe0349b5.jpg

Natural brown canvas Micarta was the choice for the handle slabs and olive drab Kydex for the sheaths.

armyjosh06_zpsa76655cb.jpg

armyjosh07_zpsa8d03711.jpg