Question on attaching extension to tang

Gemini

I am a newbie at knifemaking and wanted to try to get some advice from this experienced crowd. I have looked this up on the web with mixed results.

I have a blade from a kit that I need to attach an extension to in order to make the handle long enough for my hand. The tang is 440C stainless, is 1/2" wide and 3/16" thick.

I have a couple of questions. First, what type of weld would you recommend and would you recommend heat treatment after welding? Also, would you recommend a threaded rod to pass through and screw into the pommel or would you weld a flat bar that I can pin to the pommel?

Thank you for your time and response.

Mark the outline of the tang on your scale material and then route out the inside of one (thickness of tang)or both scales (1/2 thickness of tang on each half) leaving enough not routed on the butt end to make the handle length you are looking for. Fit it up and glue it up.

Last edited:
Mark the outline of the tank on your scale material and then route out the inside of one (thickness of tang)or both scales (1/2 thickness of tang on each half) leaving enough not routed on the butt end to make the handle length you are looking for. Fit it up and glue it up.
Or this...

Mark the outline of the tang on your scale material and then route out the inside of one (thickness of tang)or both scales (1/2 thickness of tang on each half) leaving enough not routed on the butt end to make the handle length you are looking for. Fit it up and glue it up.
opaul,
Thank you. As I mentioned in my reply to Chris, I am trying to go with a stacked leather handle. I guess that this approach won't work with this? Thank you for your reply!

The other option is a low temperature silver solder. that way you can extend it however you wish. My personal preferance would be a threaded extension.
Haines Custom,