melting down cast brass

FdLtMike

Hey guys need some help. I have a bunch of cast brass hardware that I would like to melt down for building guards and other things. I've melted lead but never brass. Any tricks or suggestions on making this project a success.

I have no hands-on experience with this but remember reading something that might be of use. A couple of years ago Jay Fisher's sword WIP on his site showed him casting a brass guard and pommel...he used a rotary mold or something along those lines to eliminate porosity.

You will need a ceramic or carbon crucible to melt the brass with an iron ladle will not do the trick. You will also need tongs to pick up the crucible. Depending on the alloy you will need to exceed 1800-1900° F in your forge/furnace. You may also need a deoxidizer which you can search for under casting supplies. If you want to just make it into bars you can purchase molds. If you want to cast your own molds then you will have to decide to do it by wax loss or sand casting. Before attempting those you should get some books one the subject and maybe look up some boards having to do with casting. With the temperatures and materials that you would be dealing with it's not a good idea to go into it blind. You could really mess yourself up with that stuff. If you think flux splatter is bad, it's nothing to a bunch of molten metal getting away from you.

Doug

Last edited:
Hello Frank , that rotary mold was a centrifuge , and you are correct its for removing air pockets . If you have a airtite oven that will keep oxygen from being absorbed into the metal, making it just about unworkable . I have a new centrifuge for sale if you are looking .... Bubba Ps Riogrand.com is a good place to buy supplies they have everthing you will need ......

Last edited:
Also Brass releases arsenic when heat/Melted.