Making a bowie/fighter

SHOKR

Hello!!

I finally decided to take a stab at this

Getting bit stressed with stock removal and local problems might leave me with no one (good) willing to HT my sverker 21 knives. So at least this will be from leaf springs, which would be relatively easy

I sketched and designed a few fighters or bowies but cant find them now, so i worked on those initial sketches

This project will take some time, since it will be my first official forged blade, my first guard, my first hidden tang, and first weirdly-shaped handle (i say weirdly because its really cool and i cant do it so far!) also MAYBE my first own Heat treat

I plan a somewhat WIP, hope it helps, is enjouable, and i get help along the way too :D

I ought to start forging tomorrow or monday, any suggestions or modifictions to those sketches?

20130719_163907.jpg

Last edited:
Thanks Shawn

I have no experience whatsoever eith these so dont know... Actually i still havent figured put knife balance in general, but on these i think it would be infront of the guard, at ricasso at best

Will use the bar on top

Its a half of a truck's leaf spring, aprox 28*8mm (1.125* 0.32")

I want to go with 6mm/ 1/4" aprox to with thin it at the same time widening it to the blade with i want. Then start the 'standard' forging prcess which till now im confused about... Ahould be fun!

Ahmad,
I will vote for the middle pattern as well, the arch in the spine and the drop in the handle looks right to put your wrist at a proper angle for a fighter.

We are watching you! LOL.

Laurence

www.rhinoknives.com

I went with the middle one!
The drawing, only God knows what i will end up with after forging!!

Laurence, what arch in the spine?

As for the handles thats just a preshape to give me an image for the tang. It can change a bit, handles have always given me... A challenge.

Each squar is 2"*2"
20130719_234659.jpg

Last edited:
The middle one looks good. I look forward to seeing your WIP.

Thanks guys