lets talk serrations!

Guindesigns

I was thinking about adding some serrations to a few hunting knives I'm working on. Problem is I've never done them before. How would I go about learning this and would I use files or can I use my grinder. Help please.

Cutting serrations by hand, with files is super time consuming, and hit-n-miss at best. I tried doing to for years that way. I once got a huge order from the American Quater Horse Association to make what we termed "wreck knives"......to be carried by riders, for when a "wreck" occurred, and they needed to cut off a halter, saddle, or whatever without injuring the animal..... the catch was that the blades were to be serrated. I searched and searched, and found this....... https://www.knifekits.com/vcom/serration-wheel-diamond-coated-usa-made-shark-bite-1295-p-2607.html It's spendy, but it makes the most consistent, best cutting, longest lasting serrations of anything I've ever tried.

Off topic but why would you want serrations on a hunting blade? I don't like serrations on any blade but especially one I'll use for hunting.
I don't really like them myself. BUT... People don't understand there real use and want them on some blades. Not full length serrations but on like the back half.

I always try to educate people on serrations, meaning....talk them out of them. In my opinion, serrations are a gimmick for those that can't/won't sharpen or maintain a blade.

I've heard all the standard stuff about "serrations are better at cutting rope and strapping" or "serrations are better for cutting bread". I call BS.

Serrations are capable of making ragged, tearing cuts for a long time but in my experience, NOTHING outcuts a properly heat treated and sharpened/honed smooth edge with proper slicing geometry.

The best way to change minds is show someone how a keen fine smooth edge SAILS through rope, seatbelts and bread.

Your mileage may vary.