is it really handmade??

Guindesigns

Im still very new at knife making and everything that goes with it. I started on a kmg grinder and not files, so I was wondering is that so bad that I didnt learn the hard way first?? I'm a 3rd genration knifes maker my grandfather (God rest his Soul) started when he was in the navy and brought it home and taught my dad when he was younger when they needed a good knife around the house. My father really got into it off shore where his works cause they get board and have alot of materal just lying around. well i got into it my senior year in highschool but i stared like i said on a kmg. My dad tells me mine arent what he call a true handmade knife. is he right? i mean i take a thought of a knife out of my head and turn it into soething real is that not a hand made knife i mean i use my hands alot during the process. lol Id like to learn how to by files and id loves to learn how to forge but right now i cant find anyone whos knows how should i just take it in my own hand and start to learn by myself?

any thoughts are welcome thank you for your time.

-Young Pup.

;) It's an old and common question that comes up often. Ask your dad if he forged his own billet of steel or if it came from an automated mill. There is no right or wrong answer to this question. Everyone has an opinion and it's worth exactly what you paid for it. I lean toward determining if the work is guided by hand. Clearly (to me) something done freehand on the grinder qualifies - and almost equally as clearly, CNC does not qualify as handmade (though it could still certainly qualify as a custom).