how thin before sharpening

You probably better wait for the experienced guys, but i was told generally between 0.01-0.02"

Depends of course on the type of knife (a chopper cant be treated like a skinner and vice versa ;)) and probably on the how crazy sharp you want it to be

For 0.01" you can sharpen using 400g belt, for 0.02" you can use a 200g to establish the edge first then sharpen

Again im new to this, just passing on what ive been told :)

It depends on the end use of the knife as mentioned.
about half to three quarters the thickness of a dime is what I do before sharpening for a Chef or skinning knife.

Laurence

www.rhinoknives.com

Good advice given thus far. There are variables that "CAN" affect the answer to your question.

The biggest variable for me personally is the steel type.

Oil quenching steels I like to go slightly less than the thickness of a dime (.050) and shoot for about .040 before HT.

Stainless I'll go much thinner on in the neiborhood of .020

I would advise to use caution and err on the side of too thick before HT and finish grind after HT.

Pretty much any suitable steel for knives is going to fully harden in sections under 1/8" so getting it thin before HT isn't necessary and leaving it thicker is insurance against our good friends de-carb and warp ;)

-Josh

I am using O1 steel and they are skinning knives. I think I am right in the .05" range after HT. so I'll see how this goes.

Another question i have is the angle used for sharpening? let's say on a scandi grind and on a flat grind..

I like my edges around 0.020" before sharpening, and I will free-hand sharpen a convex edge on the belt grinder (slack section). Not real sure what the angle comes out to be...

Starting with 100x Norax (about 220g), then 65x (about 400g) and finally either 15x or 5x (very high grit, not sure exactly). Light pressure, move fast, dunk after every pass.