forging a hawk question

MoblMec

Hi Guys
I am new to forging and have a question.Why is it harder to forge a hawk out of a ballpeen hammer than other stuff like a RR spike or a horse file?
I have forged my first thing a hawk last weekend from a RR spike and it came out pretty good if I say so myself . You can see pics. under the Tomahawks and choppers sec. This hawk took me 4 hours of hammering but I can,t imagion why it would take longer with a ballpeen head that already has a handle hole.
Just wondering as I have thought about using a ballpeen to make one.
Thanks
MoblMec

Different type of metal for one. Also is it thicker in areas, which means more metal to get up to temp and move. I have only been playing with forging for a little while and there is a huge difference between things like 1084, W2, L6, and 8670 all of which I have played with.