Etching Damasteel

BrandantR

I recently acquired a beautiful piece of Damasteel which I decided to fashion into the bolsters on the latest folder I have on my bench. Since this is my first time using this particular product, I realized that I have a few questions on how to get the best finish. I figured that I would ask the experts before I mess up a beautiful and expensive piece of steel. I have done a fair amount of research on how to properly etch Damasteel, but I've found a lot of conflicting information. So, here are my questions:

1. How high of finish (i.e. what grit of abrasive) will give me the best finished look?
2. What is the best acid to use for etching Damasteel?
3. How long do I leave the steel in the acid for the best etch?
4. Where do I obtain the particular acid used for etching?

I've worked with stainless damascus before, but not this particular variety. Any information that you might be willing to share would be greatly appreciated.

Hi Brandant,