Hello from AL

J S Machine

Hey folks, my name is John..glad to be here. I was refered to this forum by a knife maker named Steve Davis. I stopped by the Blade show the other day in Atlanta and he was nice enough to take me around and introduce me to some guys. I signed up today and this is my first post. hello there

I am a toolmaker by trade and I have recently tried my hand at a few knives. I don't really have a whole lot of time to do anything but when I do I try to do the best I can.

Here is the second knife that I have done. I started with a folder, and then did this fixed blade. I'll see if I can find some pictures of the folder and post them later.

fb1.jpg

fb2.jpg

fb3.jpg

fb4.jpg

fb5.jpg

fb6.jpg

Specs are -

Blade: D2 heat treated to around 55-56 Rc, -was really looking for around 60 Rc, but this will fly because it probably won't see much use.
Handles (scales) - Eucalyptus wood from Australia, stabilized.
Pins - Mosaic brass / stainless with a brass lanyard hole.

I did everything, except for the mosaic pins. I could have made them but I figured I would avoid the headache and just buy a premade one and cut what I needed for this knife. The blade is about .135" thick (a little more than 1/8"). The entire knife is about 7" long with a blade length of about 3". When I laid this thing out on paper, it seemed a little bigger than it actually is in real life. I designed this one without a guard, but I'd like to do one with a guard eventually. I have also got to get me some sort of name or something to stamp in my knives. None I have made so far have anything. Now I just wish I had the skills and tools to make a sheath..

I'm tellin you, I have all the respect in the world for the people who make these things by the truckload and sell them. To do this right and make one look good, it requires a great deal of time, effort, and patience.