New to Knifemaking; sounds like the right place for this...

rafterp

Good morning! I'd not seen this page before. This is my first. Started life as a farrier's rasp. Annealed in the fireplace. Heat-treated in a charcoal grill. Heated til non-magnetic, quenched in Canola Oil. Tempered in the kitchen oven at 400degrees for 1.5 hrs. It's just under 11" overall. 5.25" blade. 5" handle. Hand sanded blade to 400 grit. Handle sanded to 1000grit then finished with Tru Oil. Any comments/questions appreciated.
IMG_0135.jpgIMG_0133.jpgIMG_0131.jpgIMG_0139-1.jpg8e736b4e-41b2-486b-be09-4d51473b379c.jpg168e455e-ce06-40a4-a47a-c784697d64b1.jpg

Looks like a great first! I like the overall design and look a lot. I'm sure you learned a lot. As for advice (I'm pretty new at this too) on the next one I'd concentrate more on pin placement and edge geometry. Looks like a fairly thick cutting edge, it'll cut better if you go thinner. Did you file or grind the bevels?

Thanks! I filed this one by hand. I drilled the pin holes in the handle, then when I actually got the slabs shaped, I realized I had the front pin too close to the plunge! It was fun though (makes me wish I had more tools)!

For some of us, its like that used to say about crack cocaine. Try it once and you're addicted. I filed my first one too and decided quickly that was too much work! Now you'll have to find/build a belt grinder. This forum is a great place to get help and advice.

For a first one it ain't half bad at all. I like the shape. Next time take the primary bevel up higher and watch the pin placement. I once had a maker you must look at the concept and see what it will be as finished. Another told me do a completed to scale drawing and if you like it build the knife to match, thanks John! You will learn with each knife the areas that will give you problems completing a finished product you are happy with!