hamper lightbox

J.Leclair

here's my light box. Made from a small pop up laundry hamper from the dollar store and some white fabric from fabricland's clearance bin. I have maybe $10 in it all together. Dimensions are 21" long x 11.5" deep and tall

Folded

my camera is a canon rebel xt I got it last year and have barely touched it other than to take some family pictures (on auto mode) to tell the truth I'm a bit intimidated by it lol I'm not very tech savvy I dont even have a computer,I have to borrow my wife's laptop and she usually has to help me lol.
took it off auto mode for the first time and tried a couple shots tonight but wont bother posting the results
because they were dark and out of focus. used iso 100 but couldnt figure out how to slow down the shutter speed. I'll need to read through the manual...

Good idea for a low-buck solution!

Since many people will find this thread in the future, this would be a good time to start with the basics for anyone who is new to SLR photography. I thought I might share some ideas to help demystify it. Please don't take offense if I'm saying things you already know.

The main things to wrap your head around are: Aperture Canon calls this Av, or Aperture Value (how deep the area that will be in focus), Shutter Canon calls this Tv, or Time Value (how much light the camera lets in / how fast the camera takes the picture), and ISO (the sensitivity of the film/sensor). The first two, aperture and shutter, work hand in hand. ISO is a distant third in importance. That's your crutch to save an otherwise bad photo when there isn't enough light available.

Some tips:

1. Set your camera to MANUAL MODE. This is important so that you can control everything instead of the camera trying to create its own idea of what the image should look like. Your camera will still Auto-Focus in manual mode. Manual just lets you control the aperture and shutter settings.