cpm s90v

jblauvelt

I have a heat treating question. I am new to this steel cpm s90v) and heat treating in general. I ground a couple of fairly thin 9" fillet blanks. I am thinking that something went wrong during my normalizing cycle. Perhaps brining it up to temp, holding, and then letting it cool in the furnace may allow it to cool too quickly. (instructions says ramp down 25 degrees per hour to 1000) At any rate, I got a bad bend upon quench. (Oil) I figured I could fix it during a tempering cycle but ended up snapping it. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Thanks
Jim

I didn't realize that. After forging, I annealed, then ground and drilled for pins. then ran a normalizing cycle. then a hardening cycle. I will try the plate and compressed air method. I imagine that the plate sandwich will keep it from warping.

You are forging S90V? Are you heat treating/annealing/normalizing with the forge also? You are new to S90V? What steels are you familiar with?

yes, I forged in a gas forge, annealed, normalized and hardened in a heat treat kiln. up to now I have only been using simple carbon steels. I am totally green. I am getting the feeling by some of the reply's here that forging s90v is a no no. I started with stock that was 3/16" thick and slowly forged it thinner with a taper. The first blade warped badly in an oil quench. The second blade I plate quenched and I am very happy with the result.

Can you give approximate temperatures for the forging, annealing, normalizing, and hardening?

Can you give approximate temperatures for the forging, annealing, normalizing, and hardening?