Was asked to make a Tracker clone/copy

wall e

I was asked by a co worker to make him a survival knife like the one from the movie The Hunted.
The inclination to make a knife and enhance my skills and tackle a new challenge made my mouth go sure I can try and make it close to it.
I explained I'm still a newbie and it may not be flawless, his reply is make it the best you can the way you want, I want the knife.
So here goes a new project, 1095 1/4" thick, 11.5 oal
Wish me luck. Lol

Make it! But, make it your own.
Study the design, use the best parts and add your personal touch to the rest of it.
your customer WANTS your input and skill added to an existing knife, or he would just buy the other one.
Good luck, post pics.

Regards,
Steve

I completely agree with Steve. I've made it a point to never copy a knife. It's certainly alright to use other people's work as inspiration, but you should put your own thoughts and tweaks into the design. You know, that something extra that makes the design your own and sets it apart from the rest. Best of luck with your build. I'll be following along.

I studied the design and in my rookie opine there are things that work but there are also things I dont like about the end product that I discussed at lunch with him about it. He wants the profile mainly is the eye appeal to him as far as how its ground or handle material. He wants a survival knife to be able to pass down to his kid and them to one of theirs. So it is better to call this a variant of the tracker profile and concept.
And yes I will post pics as it progresses. Here is my rough doodle/sketch
0673733bc756e6275544917e3fab0782.jpg

Give us a right side up picture of the sketch, you caveman!! :D ;)

Just teasing you Walt. I think you know that.

Sketch looks pretty decent. This will push your skills, which is good.