Are friction folders sellers or novelties?

Self Made Knives

Hoping a bunch of you guys fresh from Blade Show have a feel for the market. Are friction folders good sellers? I was thinking about make a couple, but I'm afraid the average Joe is going to turn his nose up them. A lot of people have never even seen one. I myself have never owned one, but always thought they were kind of cool.

And, while we're on the subject of what's selling well, what trends did you see at Blade? What were people actually purchasing and carrying out the door?

Well I'm no expert at any of this but I have made one friction folder and carried it for a month or so. I showed several people and got alot of "that's cool how does it lock?" Couple guys said "I couldn't have one of those I would cut my finger off, let me know when you make a locking blade". I used it but found the tang to poke me but did find it fit nicely in that little weird pocket on the right side of your jeans. I should have put a pocket clip on it. For my personal taste I probably would not buy one, I just prefer a frame lock. I don't think I will make another or if I do I will put a bottle opener on the tang to add a little something more to draw to people...people love bottle openers even though most now days are twist off. Just my 2 cents.

Ive made 3 friction folders. 2 were gifts. The third was sold. As soon as people saw what I had made, ive been inundated with people wanting me to make them one. Honestly, in my opinion, these aren't knives for the average crowd. F. folders are more of a work of art in my eyes, and people who like the look of them, will want them. But on top of having a different look, mine are shave sharp. I dig em.