Hello from Kansas City MO

Skeaterbait

Hi All,

I have been on another forum for a while and driving everyone crazy with my redundant newb questions, but I recently found this forum so I thought I would join in and plague a new group of people (and probably some of the same ones).

I am very new to knife making (stock removal) and have only one semi completed knife to my arsenal. Through the process of making that one I have learned a lot about steel, the first lesson is not to start with 1095. I have built a two brick forge and made a naturally aspirated burner. I quickly found out that I am too lazy to use a file jig so I bought a 2x42 grinder but looking forward to being able to afford a 2x72.

So, I now have some 1084 in hand and ready to start a new project which, I am sure, will generate a whole new set of redundant questions for everyone here to suffer through.

Skeaterbait (Lonnie)

Lots of mistakes and aesthetic lessons in this one. It's 1095 steel that I did the best I could for heat treat in a forge (a bit past non-magnetic and quench in warmed canola). It gets wicked sharp but doesn't appear to be holding it well.

I used Aquafortis on the rock maple and found that it does really cool stuff to the steel. At least it would be cool if I was prepared for it so now it's just out of place. I also found out that taping the blade will not necessarily hold the stain at bay so there is some spots at the front of the handle.

6° bevel and 25° edge. I did take out to play for a bit and it chops pretty good, which is ironic. I am a firm believer that, save a true survival situation, the only thing a knife should chop is what's going in the stew pot.

campknife_1.jpgcampknife_2.jpgcampknife_3.jpgcampknife_4.jpg

Last edited:
I actually think that's pretty darn good for a first, better than a lot of "firsts". But, hey, you now know several things "not" to do next time. I started with O1 and later tried 1095, I think the O1 was easier to HT.