Getting knives to out of state shows

Vance C.

My question is- I am doing a show out of state, which is a first for me, and i was wondering what the preferred way to get the knives to the show is? The other thing is that I have not flown much before, so I am not super familiar with how airlines operate. I wanted to ask what your preferred way to get knives for shows from point A to point B is? Putting them in your luggage is sketchy to me, because I have never done it before, and mailing them to the venue sounds expensive. Thoughts and suggestions would be very much appreciated, and thanks for taking the time to read this!

call the airline you want to use, tell them up front you are transporting knives, and ask for the most secure method.

Personally, I've tried shipping, but had a bad experience with that. One year I tried shipping my knives to the Blade Show (Montana to Atlanta). Shipped them UPS 1 day shipping. I shipped on a Wed morning, got to Atlanta on Thursday evening, and my knives were not there. They did not arrive until Friday night AFTER the show had closed. Never again.

The best success I have had is to pay for an additional piece of luggage.... a large, hard "case" (mine is a doskocil). I put my knives in, and on the top layer I put a small .22 revolver. This makes the whole case a "firearm". I declare it at the check-in, TSA comes right there and checks it, then they require TWO padlocks on the case, and I keep the key(s). The TSA agent who checks the "firearm" carries it straight to the plane (here at my local airport). When it arrives in Atlanta, it doesn't come to the common luggage belt.....but get taken to a "secure" area, and I have to show my ID to pick it up.
Personally, I would never put knives in my luggage. It happens EVERY year with the Blade Show, and every year I hear a report that some knifemaker got thousands of dollar worth of knives stolen from his/her luggage.