WIP Making some portable etching tanks

Self Made Knives

I had the day off, so I knocked out a little project I've been needing. The old milk jug etching method wasn't doing much for my image, kind of amateurish. Now, if this new setup still looks amateurish, that's because I am an amateur!

Anyway, here's my design parameters. I don't see myself making any blades wider than 2" or longer than 18". I want this setup to be mobile, my shop is still unfinished and I'm trying not make things too permanent. I hardly ever work on more than a couple knives at a time, so it doesn't need to be very big. I don't have running water either (unless you count the creek) so I need a neutralizing tank too.

Here's what I'm working with:
SAM_2174.jpg SAM_2175.jpg

Radio Shack ferric chloride, distilled water, TSP from Lowes, 4 feet of 2" pvc pipe, 4 pvc 2" caps, and 2 conduit clamps for 2" pipe. The wood is scrap from a bunk bed we threw out (yes, I am a cheapskate).

First thing up, cut the pipe in two, giving me two 24" sections, then glued one set of caps on them.
SAM_2176.jpg

Yes, that glue can has rust on it, it's getting old (I'm a cheapskate) but it still worked. More after while, got to take kiddo to basketball practice.

Ok, I'm back home. After gluing the caps on the ends, I flipped them upside down. I needed to pick the spacing for the base recesses. They will be held apart with the conduit clamps similar to this:
SAM_2178.jpg

After marking the centers, a hole is drilled about 1/2" deep and the waste removed with chisels. If you had a big enough hole saw, just make it where the caps sit inside the hole, but I didn't. It really just needs a recess that it can't slide out of, so a couple minutes with a gouge and it worked fine. Check out that Bodark hammer!
SAM_2180.jpg SAM_2181.jpg SAM_2184.jpg