Pairing knife WIP

TDPurcell

KNIFE MAKER
Paring Knife WIP

First, let me introduce myself. I've been making knives, off and on, since 2011, after taking a class at Gil Hibben's shop in LaGrange, KY. Before the class, I had no idea how to do any aspect of knifemaking. After the class, I acquired various machines and equipment through ebay, craigslist, and the IRS auction website (Industrial Recovery Services), and I've studied numerous sources of knife making information, including the great information that is available on this forum that has been generously shared by many accomplished knife makers. I also owe a debt of gratitude to Winn Hines of Winn Hines Custom Knives, who has been instrumental in my development as a knifemaker.

My current interest lies primarily with the type of fixed blade knives I used prior to becoming a knifemaker, mainly European style chef's knives and other kitchen cutlery, fillet knives, and small skinning/hunting knives. However, I'm always looking to expand my knowledge and interests.

I started on some paring knives today, and I thought I'd share some WIP pictures. I do not necessarily believe that what I am putting in this WIP thread adds much to what other people have already posted, but I figured that, in fairness, I should give back by sharing some of what I do for what its worth. Most of what I'm doing here is pretty basic for many. I'd appreciate any and all constructive feedback regarding any aspect of what I'm doing, as I believe that learning is a lifelong endeavor. So, without any further ado, the WIP....

The first pic shows the bar stock I've started with. This is 440c bar stock from Admiral Steel. You can see that it has quite a bit of scale left on it that I'll have to grind off later.

The second pic shows the pattern I made for the paring knife. The pic also shows a pattern for a chef's knife that I previously made. I designed the pairing knife to match the chef's knife as a set.