My attempt at a folder....

Self Made Knives

I'm working on my first folder, which also happens to be my fourth knife overall. I downloaded and sort of learned a free CAD program, Draftsight, for this project. If you're willing to try it, it sure beats paper templates for rotating your parts to see where stop pins and locks go.

My initial design was for a button lock auto, but even though it looked good on "paper", when I started trying to figure out spacing and clearance for the spring, my head started spinning. I quickly realized that I'm still a beginner, and I'd better back off and go with a liner lock first. I think I've already got one problem coming, let's see if any of you see it too.

Here's progress so far....

folder 1.jpg

folder 2.jpg

That looks great for your first folder,,the one spacer screw looks to close to the edge,if that was your only mistake on your first folder be thankfull lol.the thing with folders is it takes less than one second to make a mistake,usually irreversible.

Ding, ding, ding! You nailed it, screws too close to edge. I drilled my pivot and thong holes, pinned them together, then drilled holes for screws. Looked fine when I profiled liners, that is, until I countersunk the screw holes. After some choice words, I considered scrapping them and starting over, but I figure I'll screw up something else too, so why not just continue on and call it a learning experience.

I made a solid backbone that acts as my stop for open and closed. I don't know if anybody does it like this, seems like most people are using pins.

SAM_0032.jpg
SAM_0035.jpg

Mistakes happen,that's how most of us learn.I use stop pins with short back bars to cut weight,sometimes I even drill out the back bar.I think it makes cleaning easier too.

Bolsters?

I've never made a folder and I haven't used bolsters on a knife yet, so why not just double up, no sense playing it safe.