Rookie tactical WIP

Justin Presson

I have been wanting to make a tactical type defense style knife. The other day I was looking at another forum and seen a knife by maker Don Hanson and I really liked the blade profile. So I drew up a sketch and then thought I had better contact him to make sure it was ok and not to copy his. He looked at my sketch and said it was ok and not a exact copy of his and to go for it so I was excited.
I was dead tired after work yesterday as we had a busy day but couldn't wait to get started so I did and thought why not make a WIP. I really enjoy them and even though I'm extremely new to making knives I decided to start one. Im sure alot we be simple things and i will make mistakes but here goes.

I drew the sketch out on graph paper then transfered it over to thick cardboard paper (like cereal box) then cut it out and traced it to the steel witch is 01 1/8" thick.

dezata6u.jpg

7uny4y9u.jpg

Next I started cutting out the profile with a hacksaw.
a6e2a7y5.jpg

I need a bandsaw :p
5etusa6e.jpg

Roughed out with hacksaw
ry7emuqu.jpg

I used a large drill bit to take the majority of the material out of the finger grove.
sa3unu7y.jpg

Since I try do do most of the rough out at the shop at work to keep my garage at home clean I use the bench grinder to get the profile close then I will clean it up later with the belt sander.
ny2e5y6a.jpg

That's as far as I got the last pic is it all roughed out hope I can pull this off that blade profile has me worried if I will be able to grind the bevels since it has that recurve. Hope i didnt bite off more than i can chew. We will see!!!
e8yry9y7.jpg

Last edited:
Got a little more time after work to work on the knife.

I started off using a 8" half round file to work all the inside curves and do a little draw filing on them I like that size file for my finger grove guard area seems about the perfect size.

8ejudube.jpg

yrysemeh.jpg