A Woodworker Builds a Belt Grinder

Roger T

After seeing how useful and versatile the belt grinders are in Bruce Bump’s shop, I knew I “needed” one too. Ready-made was way out of my budget, so I set out to see what I could build. I wanted a variable-speed motor, so after some research I purchased a 2HP 3-phase motor that turned at 1725 rpm. With a variable-frequency controller I can set it to run at any speed I wish with just the turn of a dial. I am a woodworker, I have a shop full of wood scraps, but I don’t have a place to cut and weld steel. Here is what I came up with, I hope it may be useful to someone else who’s interested in putting a grinder together.

I took a 4” square block of soft maple inserted 4 hanger bolts and mounted pillow blocks and a 12” x ¾” shaft to carry a 10” contact wheel. The motor has a 5” drive wheel.
DSC05653_zpsa7b68bb9.jpg

DSC05652_zps96e2087a.jpg

DSC05633_zpsa1c27dcc.jpg

DSC05635_zps9cd02220.jpg

I traced the wheel and belt configuration on a piece of masonite and built this support for my idler/tracking wheel from three layers of ¾” Baltic birch plywood. The recess is for the gas spring that will tension the belt and the cutout fits over the pillow block.
DSC05636_zps4de200a2.jpg

The tracking adjustment consists of this gate hinge and a fine-threaded 5/16 bolt threaded through a steel plate inset in the arm to press against the hinge to change the angle of the 4” idler wheel.
DSC05641_zps4e8566d7.jpg

DSC05651_zpseafcee2c.jpg

DSC05639_zps47ee95b5.jpg

DSC05649_zpsa903bc7a.jpg

More to follow.

Further progress

These show the arm that holds the tracking wheel. It’s a piece of oak pivoting on a ½” bolt that runs through a pair of metal brackets bolted to the support.

DSC05637_zpsb3f3ae15.jpg

DSC05640_zpsf4290b7f.jpg

This 20 lb. gas spring tensions the belt.

DSC05643_zpsf399317d.jpg