Temp display for forge

BD Blades

This may be a silly question but I will ask.

I am new to forging and currently only have a small home built forge. I am hoping to buy or build a bigger one. I was wondering if anyone uses a temacuople and temperature display for thir forge. If forging at the right temprature and keeping grain size small and so on is so important I can't see why this would not help. I know nothing about what would be involved to set something like that up and it may not be cost effective. Just curious.

Yes, I and others do use thermocouples with pyrometer to help regulate our forge temperatures. I know that I payed less than $100 for mine and not long ago someone posted a link to a add on Amazon.com that was selling one for $40 that measured up to around 2200-2400 degrees. I stuck my probe through the side wall of my heat treating/welding forge. It had been through the back until I cut a pass-through port in the back. I don't run one on the small forge, 7" fire chamber, that I only use for forging. Going by the color of the steel is good enough for that operation.