Oklahoma Knife Group Association Shop Tour

Bill Coye

Knife Maker
A great time today at Mr. Mike Miller's shop. Mike is the president of the KGA and did a hollow grinding demo and described different equipment in his shop (much of which he built himself). Mr. Ray Kirk broke out the forge and had a demonstration of his own. He got a few folks involved which was great to watch. A couple of Oklahoma knifemaking suppliers were there to make sure we went home with some new handle material.

Good food, good folks, sunshine, great subject matter. What more could you ask for on a Saturday afternoon? A big Thank You to Mike for his hospitality!

http://theknifegroup.com/

2-18.jpg

3-13.jpg

4-12.jpg

Last edited:
Yeah, it was really great. Being the total noob that I am, it was nice to get to shake hands with some of the people I've heard about.

BC

We had a good time . I have several pieces of equipment you won't see in others shops and as Bill said what beautiful weather. Bill brought his equipment down to show us how to stone wash a blade. A friend and my son smoked chicken quarters and pork chops. The poor table that held the deserts barely made it. It was a wonder half of us was not asleep after the meal. Ray woke us all up hammering out an intergeral. The best part of the afternoon was Ray helping Ben Patterson( age 15) and Luke Killiam ( age 14 ) make their first forged blades. Ben did an intergeral and Luke did blacksmith self handled blade. Both did very well. I heat treated Ben's blade and the 1095 blade I did the hollow grind demo to give Ben something to work on. Ben also won a BIG chunk of black walnut in our iron-in-the-hat for finish his knives. Enjoyable day all around. Mike

Last edited:
Looks like a great turnout and a great time. Having been to a couple of these I KNOW you ate well. Wish I could have made it.

SDS

Looks like a great turnout and a great time. Having been to a couple of these I KNOW you ate well. Wish I could have made it.

SDS