Clay for Hamon need some help

Gahagan

I am about to do a blade out of some w2 I got from Aldo and the customer wants a hamon on it. I am new to this but am willing to give it a shot. What do I make the clay out of for this? What materials do I need to get and where can I get them? I am also planning to use parks 50 but have been told to use salt brime which will do better?

gahagen theres a great tutorial on hamons in the tutorial section, on that note i think the parks would be very good, i use furnace cament from true value. good luck,and hope to see how it turns out.

The furnace cement has worked just as well as the satanite for me. The Parks will work and is safer than the brine. If it's a thick blade, I found going a little higher than where you expect the hamon line to be is good because of heat bleeding down from the thicker protected spine. It took a few tries to outsmart the thing on the first few blades. Good luck.

Rudy