Some of my work

FTO_dude

My name is Zac, or FTOdude.
I just turned 20 years old, I'm a student and i live in south-east Melbourne.
I've been a knife guy only for the past 2 years or so. I've owned swords for a few years before that too.
I suppose I was frustrated with the lack of variety and quality of fixed blades available from Aussie retailers so i decided to have a go at making my own.
After a little bit of messing around, getting to know steelworking, i jumped right into some leaf spring knives. they were not excellent.
DSC_0128.jpg

They sat in that condition for quite some time as i wasnt all too pleased with them.
instead i moved onto saw blades, they gave me a lot more experience in applying and shaping handles
DSC_0106-1.jpg

Christmas time came and i finally got myself a belt grinder, and thats when production kicked up a notch!
In the last couple of months i've just finished of these bad boys

The big sheep
D2 tool steel
12cm blade, 25cm overall
4mm thick
6mm stainless pins from a bbq rack
Jarrah scales with black liners
The sheath is of my creation too
DSC_0355.jpg

DSC_0363.jpg

Those leaf spring knives?
This one has a 13cm blade and is 26cm overall.
5160 Spring steel(From a Mazda)
The handle is homemade Micarta from hessian and fibreglass resin.
The pins are aluminium tubing from a hobby shop.
This was also my first attempt at kydex
DSC_0332.jpg

DSC_0323.jpg

DSC_0335.jpg

and finally this on is 36cm overall with a 19cm blade.
same steel
and again homemade micarta
DSC_0119.jpg

DSC_0130.jpg

DSC_0118.jpg

Love that final shot!

and just finished this one up yesterday
DSC_0173.jpg

Hope you guys like my stuff!

Those look great Zac. I really like the one with the Green handle. What is "hessian" ?

Welcome to the Pound too

Welcome. You are off to a good start IMHO. The sheepfoot is nice, like the scales alot. But the green mazda is my favorite. Bottom unit looks good btw. Dozier