what kind of steel are most files made of

cantax

I know people make knives out of files, but what kind of file?
I am a newbie and would like to try my hand at making a file knife.
Can someone tell me what type or kind of file I can use.
Thanks in advance for your help.

Alex

Nicholson files will make decent blades if you can anneal them and then re-harden them properly. You can buy bar stock that is better suited to blade-making and already annealed for less money, though.
If you want to make one from a file without doing any heat treating to it, that is possible too but not as easy as it sounds. You should at least temper the file in an oven at around 450 degrees for 2 hours, files are really too hard and brittle for a knife blade unless you do this. Then you have to be able to grind the fie down to a blade while it is still hardened, which is not easy. In doing so you have to be careful not to over-heat it or you will have soft spots that will not hold an edge.

Alex, I second, third, and fourth Justin's suggestion that you use a known steel for knife making, at least to start with. Even after you have some experience under your belt, known steels are still better. What steels are used in any given product is nothing more than a guess and mystery metal is best left alone until one has the experience to judge the quality of steel. The only time that I can't argue, at least all that much, against mystery metal is when it is free. You just can't beat that price point.

Doug Lester

I'll be different and say "go for it." I've used several dozen nicholson files that have made good knives. The other poster is right, you can temper at 500 then grind, or anneal, grind, and heat treat. I opt for the anneal/heat treat myself.