Question on vertical forges

Bob Warner

KNIFE MAKER
Hello all,

I have been out of knifemaking for a while and just built a two burner (venturi) horizontal forge for general forging. It is a big forge but I do more than just knifemaking. An example is the twisted door handles below.

Anyway, back to the vertical forge. I want to build a welding forge but by being out of the game a while I am wondering if things have changed in how they are built. A few years back the goal was a castable forge and a blown burner. I think the blown burner is still the idea but what about castable? Are people using kaowool and ITC or castable?

I have never built a vertical forge before and wonder about placement of the billet. Is there usually a shelf inside or is the billet suspended in the forge by the bottom of the door and the handle resting on some sort of holder?

Does the burner still enter in the bottom of the forge at an angle to create a swirl?

Thanks,

Bob

It appears I did not properly add the photos to the message above. Here they are.

Attachments

• IMG_1395.jpg
    IMG_1395.jpg
    99.7 KB · Views: 71
  • IMG_12641.jpg
    IMG_12641.jpg
    33.4 KB · Views: 62
  • IMG_12651.jpg
    IMG_12651.jpg
    49.2 KB · Views: 56
Hi Bob glad to see you getting busy again, I hope your health has improved?

Well I just had a friend build me a forge and he did something a bit different. He used Kaowool but saturated it with 3000º castable. This forge is using a 2 venturi burners.

_MG_5858-Version2-1.jpg

I have a castable blown forge as well and this one heats up very fast.

Building a vertical forge if you want to do damascus is definitely the way to go. Yes blown is still the way to go on a vertical forge IMO.