Google sketchup tutorial?

Precise

While working on my first knife from a copied pattern, I decided to play around with starting to design my own knife. My drawing skills are horrible, so I want to use google sketchup to make it nice and neat (and to easily make lots of good copies).

Anyone know of any tutorials for designing knives in Sketchup? I've never used anything like it before, but everyone keeps saying how great it is...

Steve,

I Googled 'google sketchup knife tutorial' and came up with only one on how to animate a knife, not sketch it. Could you post one of the links you found? I am interested in this also.

I'm certainly not a computer guy, but if you search for "sketch up tutorial" you'll get dozens of hits. Knife-specific is irrelevant because the basics of making a house or the like go hand-in-hand with making a knife. Heck, I made a beautiful mock-up of a canoe hull and sliding seat apparatus that's dang near perfect, and I don't know jack about the system.

Do you guys just polygon in the bevels? I've tried using SketchUp on a few simple designs, but any knife with a belly requires hand-drawing a bunch of triangles. I've got limited experience with drafting software, so that may be normal. It seems like an awful waste of time though.

Thanks for the reply.

I'm getting a little better with it, but I haven't got down adjusting scale though. Apparently, the knife I drew is over 15 feet long and 6 foot wide!?!?! I don't even think I have enough paper to try and print that out!

Precise,

I do most of my graphics with Xara Xtreme Pro 5.0. They have a free trial version and some older versions reduced. It is great vector software at a reasonable price and the learning curve is easier than PhotoShop or Illustrator. I think the newest version is still under $300 and there are on-line tutorials on youtube and at talkgraphics.com.

Xara

Thanks for the reply.