Drill Presses

Greenhead

Hi All,
As I mentioned before I am brand new to making and trying to get my shop in order. I am looking for some drill presses but I am getting a little confused. Whats the difference btw a $250(Delta) and say a $500(Jet)? Is the Jet worth more or get one of each or something else altogether? Thanks in advance!

Jamie

Don't have either one of those, but I do have several Harbor Freight $59 bench top models. For the money, can't beat them. Buy 3 or 4 and set them up as individual work stations to perform 1 job. Just a thought.

I agree, I have a $60 harbor freight drill press and it works pretty darn good,
Weel worth the money if it last a half a year, which I think it will.

I picked one up from Tractor Supply Company, and it is pretty good so far. I think mine cost about $60 - $80. I don't think I could live without it!!:D Heck My wife even used it to make some Pilot holes for a little project she was working on. I would rather she use it than a hand held!!

Like the other fellows, I have an inexpensive drill press (Black & Decker benchtop, I think it cost $100 or so) and like it just fine. The important thing to look for is, can you slow it down? Mine goes down to 620 rpm and I leave it there all the time. 300 rpm would be better but mine works pretty good on steel and doesn't burn up bits.

Read the manual! :D

Spend any extra money on a nice vise that can be clamped to the press table, quality bits, and grab a bottle of cutting fluid while you're at the store. Bolt the press securely to your benchtop and make sure everything is nice and square. Get one or two solid carbide bits if you can, for drilling hardened steel. You will probably want one eventually.

I'm not a trained machinist, but this set-up is working well for me. There are folks around here who may chime in with a lot more detailed information. :)

I've got an old Craftsman from a local used tool place. $75 + some TLC and it's fine.