Building Damascus with Billy Helton

JAWilliams

KNIFEMAKER
Yesterday I had the honor and pleasure of meeting Billy Helton face to face and getting to build some damascus with him. It was a great day and I had a great time. I learned more in one day talking with Billy and working on damascus than I ever had. Billy got me going and then he stepped back and just watched as I went. Billy watched and would only help me when I got stuck on how to do something. He is a great teacher and a great person I call friend. By the time we were done I walked away feeling that I could make a damascus billet and realizing that if I get stuck on a project I can call and get help. For me this was a great time and I have a greater understanding of damascus. No I am not an expert but Billy gave me a better understanding of it. If I can get the camera to pick up some of the patterns I will post them. Thanks Billy for your patience and time. Hope we can do this again.

James

2189568405_c1003315b0.jpg

Yesterday I had the honor and pleasure of meeting Billy Helton face to face and getting to build some damascus with him. It was a great day and I had a great time. I learned more in one day talking with Billy and working on damascus than I ever had. Billy got me going and then he stepped back and just watched as I went. Billy watched and would only help me when I got stuck on how to do something. He is a great teacher and a great person I call friend. By the time we were done I walked away feeling that I could make a damascus billet and realizing that if I get stuck on a project I can call and get help. For me this was a great time and I have a greater understanding of damascus. No I am not an expert but Billy gave me a better understanding of it. If I can get the camera to pick up some of the patterns I will post them. Thanks Billy for your patience and time. Hope we can do this again.

James

You are welcome james you didnt do to shabby for a green horn.