Unfolding: The World of Art Knives

Lorien

My good friend, Dr. David Darom, asked me if I was interested in taking a look at his new book, The World of Art Knives and sharing my impressions of his book with my this and other internet forums.

Being a rank neophyte to custom and handmade knives, I was surprised to be asked to do this job. I have only scratched the surface by way of Dr. Darom's previous books and through these various internet forums. Why David would ask someone as wet behind the ears, who's never even been to a proper knife show, and whose only 'knife network' is the internet forum, remains a happy mystery to me.

Please take a note that this is not a 'review' of the book. I am not a professional reviewer and I am most certainly biased. My motivation is to help my friend promote his work, and to have fun. That's the straight goods, don't forget!

At this point, I have not yet opened the book. The pictures you see following are all that I have seen up to this point.

I hope that you will accompany me on my journey of discovery, as this thread will grow and grow. I have full access to the entire content of this book, and will add more pictures and the like over time.

My very first impression is that the cover is just beautiful. It features a knife by my all time favourite Art knife Artist, Wolfgang Loerchner! Also, the quality of the binding is excellent and with proper care and maintenance, this book will provide years if not generations of enjoyment. Just like a knife!

ArtKnives1.jpg

ArtKnives2.jpg

ArtKnives3.jpg

ArtKnives4.jpg

ArtKnives5.jpg

Please stay tuned!

I've had a chance to thumb through this book from back to front, and front to back.

I cannot stress too much, how clear, correct and outstanding the photographs in this book are. Even compared to Dr. Darom's past books, this one raises the bar.

Here is one image that really jumped out at me;

Talanian_Sfreddo_Bump.jpg