Looking for a new dog

B

Ben Sons

I was going to wait until I got back from this deployment, but it got canned.
I have been looking at 90-95% wolfs and was wondering if anyone could help me out... Have you had one? How are thier temperment? Do they make good pets? Ect...
I am judging them based on looks alone, now I need some real intel.
Thanks for your time

Ben Sons

Ben,

I have very little personal experience with wolf hybrids. I do however have a good friend who is a professional obedience and search and rescue instructor who has extensive knowledge and experience with wolves and hybrids. I would be happy to put you in touch with her.

If you really like the look of the more primitive breeds of dogs (hybrids and dogs of the spitz family), I would encourage you to look into the Akita. I've had an Akita in my family for eleven years now and they are an amazing breed who is highly intelligent and extremely protective if thier family.

Murph, the more info the better. I'd like to speak to her.
I'm not sure how the longer haired breeds would do in the south.
The last family dog I had was an American bulldog, when I moved from California to Arkansas he had a heat stroke and passed (7 years ago next July)

Your primitive breeds do just fine here in the South. There are just a couple if things you need to remember.

1. NEVER shave thier coat. They have a double coat which insulared them from the cold in the winter and the heat in the summer. Just keep thier coat brushed well (at least once per week).

2. If they are outside dogs (which I highly discourage), insure they are kept well hydrated. Cool fresh water is essential in the Summer.

If at all possible, I encourage dog owners to keep thier dogs indoors. Dogs bond better with thier families with the more time they spend together (dogs are pack animals). The stronger the bond, the happier, healthier, and more obedient the dog.